ASEAN policies


The ASEAN Joint Coordinating Committee on Dental Practitioners (AJCCD) is the committee under the Healthcare Services Sectoral Working Group (HSSWG) that discusses matters pertaining to facilitation of cooperation on Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) on Dental Practitioners. Since the signing date, the following revisions on Professional Dental Practitioner Regulatory Authority were made:

The Dental MRA was signed in March 2009. This Arrangement will facilitate the mobility of dental services professionals within ASEAN, enhance exchange of information and expertise on standards and qualifications, promote adoption of best practices for professional dental services and provide opportunities for capacity building and training of dental practitioners.

This MRA is in accordance with the efforts of the ASEAN Member States in recognizing the ASEAN Vision 2020 on Partnership in Dynamic Development geared towards the creation of a stable, prosperous and highly competitive ASEAN Economic Region.

The AJCCD regularly exchange information on the policies related to dental services. Among others:

  1. Policies of Temporary Licensing/Practising privilege for Foreign Dental Practitioners
  2. Requirements for Registration/Licensing Process
  3. Types of Registration and Licensing Period and Extension for Foreign Practitioners
  4. Requirement of Continuous Professional Development (CPD)
  5. Malpractice Insurance

As part of an on-going effort to further improve standards in healthcare services, AJCCD has finalised and adopted ASEAN’s Dental Practice Standard. ASEAN Member States are expected to start integrating elements of the Standards into their respective practice standards. At the 22nd AJCCD meeting in November 2018, ASEAN Member States adopted the ASEAN Minimum Common Competency Standard for dental undergraduate education including the scope of performing abilities for each competence.Furthermore, for clarity, the AJCCD also adopted the glossary of terms.